Earlier today, Valve has released a new update that makes the full version of CS:GO become free-to-play. Along with this change, a new battle-royale-style game mode called "Danger Zone" was also added. With this update, Valve has taken another step from allowed newcomers to utilize certain parts of the game free of charge, such as playing offline and spectating matches.

And of course, battle royale games are currently a thing in the gaming industry, so it's no surprise that Valve was also making their own battle royale mode. This mode is now available to be played solo or in teams of two to three players.

Csgo Dangerzone

The full changelog of the update can be found below:

  • [CS:GO – Danger Zone]
    • Introducing Danger Zone, a fast-paced battle royale game mode built on CS:GO’s tactical gameplay.
    • Danger Zone can be played solo, or in squads of two or three players.
    • CS:GO is now free to play.
    • All players who played CS:GO before the Danger Zone update will receive a commemorative Loyalty Badge they can display on their profile.
    • All current CS:GO Players have been upgraded to Prime Status.
    • Prime Status continues to match you with other Prime Status players.
    • Additionally, your Prime Status will give you access to the new Souvenir MP5-SD | Lab Rats (available by earning XP while playing Danger Zone matches) and the new Danger Zone case.
  • [Danger Zone Case]
    • Introducing the Danger Zone Case, featuring 17 community-designed weapon finishes, and the Horizon Knives as rare special items.

Screen Shot 2018 12 06 At 2 00 08 Pm

Of course, the transition to a free-to-play status of CS:GO lead to many concerns from the existing players, when hacking and cheating are becoming regular after every Steam sale. So, when the game is free-to-play, and the risk of being banned and lose everything doesn't exist, those bad players will make the game even worse.

But as usual, this is Valve's problem to solve.