The nineteenth annual Game Developers Choice Awards ceremony took place last Wednesday in San Francisco during the Game Developers Conference in. In the end, God of War from Sony Santa Monica surpassed Rockstar’s Red Dead Redemption 2, Marvel’s Spider-Man, as well as Return of the Obra Dinn, Celeste, and other games to take home the title of Game of the Year.

God Of War 2018
God of War is this year's Game of the Year at GDC

The nominees were chosen by various video game developers from all over the world and announced back in January. You can see the full list of award winners this year below.

Furthermore, the Game Developers Choice Awards also sets aside 2 awards every year to commemorate notable figures of the gaming industry. This time, The Lifetime Achievement Award was earned by Amy Hennig, writer and creative director of the acclaimed Uncharted franchise. Meanwhile, the Pioneer Award went to veteran game developer Rieko Kodama, the one behind numerous classics like Phantasy Star, Skies of Arcadia, and Alex Kidd.

Uncharted 4 Amy Hennig
Amy Hennig, writer of Uncharted, is the winner of GDC's Lifetime Achievement Award this year

“The Game Developers Choice Awards represent the most refined games of the year, and the sheer variety of games honored tonight showed that games can still represent wholly new and unique creative visions,” GDC General Manager Katie Stern said.

“A number of independently developed titles like Celeste, Gris and Florence helped prove how internal or deeply personal turmoil can make for massively appealing games for millions of fans. While games like God of War and Red Dead Redemption 2 capture our imagination with poignant moments juxtaposed against epic tales of staggering scale and technical prowess. We embrace and accept all these amazingly creative works, and we’re proud to recognize these nominees and winners alike for the imagination and hard work that brought them here.”

Red Dead Redemption 2 A True Free World Doesnt Nee
Red Dead Redemption 2 got the most nominations

The full list of award winners:

Best Audio

Celeste (Matt Makes Games)

Best Debut

Florence (Mountains)

Best Design

Into the Breach (Subset Games)

Best Mobile Game

Florence (Mountains)

Innovation Award

Nintendo Labo (Nintendo EPD/Nintendo)

Best Narrative

Return of the Obra Dinn (Lucas Pope/3909)

Best Technology

Red Dead Redemption 2 (Rockstar Games)

Best Visual Art

Gris (Nomada Studio/Devolver Digital)

Best VR/AR Game

Beat Saber (Beat Games)

Audience Award

Beat Saber (Beat Games)

Game of the Year

God of War (SIE Santa Monica Studio/Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Pioneer Award

Rieko Kodama

Lifetime Achievement Award

Amy Hennig