While the world is watching FIFA World Cup in Qatar, the world of eSports is following the exciting turns of the International E-sports Federation 2022 Championship that this year takes place in Bali, Indonesia. 28 national teams and an IESF squad fights for a prize fund of 100000$.

World Esports Championship is a LAN event meaning that it takes place offline. This year, the viewers can enjoy not only the show but also a warm sea breeze, as the tournament stage is located right at the beach. The event is organized in close partnership with Indonesia’s Esports governing body, Pengurus Besar Esports Indonesia (PBESI). The location is chosen with the intent of improving tourism in Indonesia which somewhat suffered due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and for those who cannot attend the official streams on YouTube and Twitch channels of the host are available.


The Tournament Format

Unlike The International 2022, where fans are looking at the top Dota 2 teams, seasoned professionals, literally the best of the best, IESF World Championship is a place for national teams meaning it is to decide which country would win the cup. This is a unique approach as there is no other e-sports event in the world where national teams compete.


During the Group Stage, there are four groups of teams, and within each group, teams will compete against one another in best-of-one matchups. The top four from each group advance to the second round. Then all matches till Grand Final will be of best of 3 (Bo3) system, which means the team has to win twice in order to advance. And in the Grand Final, the system is best of five (Bo5) meaning that the team is to claim victory at 3 of 5 matches in order to move further in the rankings. Grand Final day is scheduled for December, 10th.

The prize pool of 100000$ will be divided among the winner as such:

  • 1th place — 50000$
  • 2th place — 30000$
  • 3th place — 20000$


The list of 2022 competitors consist of the IESF team and 28 country names:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgystan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Syria
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela

The Tournament History and Values

Every year since 2009, the IESF has served as the host for the Esports World Championship. With the 2019 record, when over 500 countries fought at the tournament in Seoul, no less than 100 nations compete in such legendary games, as CS:GO, Dota 2, Tekken, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang, eFootball, and PUBG. 


The IESF not only contributes to the development of e-sports globally. It offers guidance and support to promote the establishment of national e-sports teams, educates qualified referees, managers, and other professionals, and introduces competitive guidelines, standards, and regulations. The Federation works to expand cybersports worldwide and make them as popular and respectable as traditional sports. 

In the ideal IESF e-sports world, every player is to play in a safe, clear, doping-free, and fair place, where everyone is on the same level with the same chances.

The eSports Competitions and the Economics

Destroying the harmful stigma surrounding cybersports is one thing, but there are also quite pragmatic factors in favor of eSports events. LAN, or offline, events are the most beneficial to the economics of the hosting countries. With thousands of players from hundreds of states and millions of fans supporting them, every IESF tournament gives an enormous boost to the tourism industry of the host city, which brings not only a significant financial profit but also improves its recognition and popularity, supports small businesses, creates job opportunities, and contributes to its positive image in the media.