Garena Free Fire has evolved into one of the most popular Battle Royale games of all-time. It owns the world record for having a whopping 80 million daily active players globally. With such a gigantic demographic, it would make no sense that the game only offers one map to enjoy. In fact, there are a total of three maps in Free Fire: Bermuda, Purgatory, and Kalahari. They bring a sense of variety as players can freely switch between the three. 

Purgatory is the second map in Garena Free Fire

Purgatory was the second map introduced to the Free Fire realm. It’s a small island divided by rivers and carved by mountains, creating a rugged yet beautiful terrain. The map fits perfectly to those seeking a little ambush action with various bridges and crossing points. Purgatory was added back into Free Fire last month after its removal earlier. Let’s discuss how to play this map.

purgatory map circle
Beware of campers on the connecting bridges

Unlock Purgatory Map in Garena Free Fire

To unlock it, players must first meet the following requirements: reach level 5 or higher and download the expansion pack. Upon completing these conditions, players can unlock and enjoy matches on Purgatory. Here’s how to download the map:

  • # 1: Open Free Fire on your device and visit the “Download Center” via the icon on the top of the screen
download center free fire
Click here to visit the Download Center
  • # 2: Hit the download button next to the name of the map
  • # 3: Wait for the download to complete (no further installation needed)