women's ipl 2020
The official logo of Women’s IPL

Women’s IPL 2020: General information

Women’s IPL, is also called Women’s T20 Challenge, is a cricket tournament for Indian women. IPL Women’s T20 League was first organized in Mumbai in 2018. There are 2 teams joining in this tournament such as IPL Traiblazers and IPL Supernovas. In the second season - Women’s IPL 2019, there is one more team taking part in including IPL Velocity, IPL Traiblazers, and IPL Supernovas.

According to BCCI, there are a total of 4 teams in the third season of Women’s IPL.

Women’s IPL 2020: Schedule and result

According to the BCCI’s announcement, Women’s IPL 2020 will be held from May 17th to May 23rd, 2020. However, because of Covid-19, the tournament is delayed. The latest information about the schedule of Women’s IPL 2020 will be updated as soon as possible.

Women's T20 World Cup
The captains of the 10 countries participating in the Women's T20 World Cup. Picture: AP

Women’s IPL 2018 & 2019: Schedule and result

  • Women’s IPL 2018

The first season of Women’s IPL was held in Mumbai on May 22nd, 2018. Two teams joined this competition includes IPL Supernovas and IPL Traiblazers. The cricketers from Australia and England also joined in this match.

Match Date Stadium Result
IPL Supernovas

130/7 (in 20 overs)

Danielle Wyatt (24)

Harmanpreet Kaur (21)

Mithali Raj (22)

Suzie Bates (2/16)

Poonam Yadav (2/21)

IPL Traiblazers

129/6 ( in 20 overs)

Suzie Bates (32)

Jemimah Rodrigues (25)

Megan Schutt (2/18)

Ellyse Perry (2/20)

May 22nd, 2018 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 130 - 129

The champion of this season is IPL Supernovas. In this match, IPL Supernovas won by 3 wickets. The player of the match belongs to Suzie Bates (a member of IPL Traiblazers).

This list below is a list of cricketers who joins in Women’s IPL 2018

IPL Supernovas Nationality IPL Traiblazers Nationality
Harmanpreet Kaur Indian Smriti Mandhan Indian
Taniya Bhatia Indian Suzie Bates New Zealander
Danielle Wyatt English Alysaa Healy New Zealander
Mithali Raj Indian Deepti Sharma Indian
Meg Lanning New Zealander Beth Mooney New Zealander
Sophie Devine New Zealander Jemimah Rodrigues Indian
Ellyse Perry New Zealande Danielle Hazell English
Veda Krishnamurthy Indian Shikha Pandey Indian
Mona Meshram Indian Lea Tahuhu New Zealander
Pooja Vastrakar Indian Jhulan Goswami Indian
Megan Schutt New Zealander Ekta Bisht Indian
Rajeshwari Gayakwad Rajeshwari Gayakwad Poonam Yadav Indian
Anuja Patil Indian Dayalan Hemalatha Indian

The captain of IPL Supernovas is Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana is the captain of IPL Traiblazers.

  • Women’s IPL 2019

In the second season, the competition is hard when there is one more team than the previous season. There are a total of 4 matches including 3 round-robins and a final match.

Here is a full list of schedules and results.

No Match   Date Stadium Result The woman of the match
 1 IPL Supernovas

138/6 in 20 overs

Harmanpreet Kaur (46)

Sophie Ecclestone (2/11)  in 4 overs

IPL Traiblazers

140/5 in 20 overs

Smriti Mandhana (90)

Radha Yadav (2/28)  in 4 overs

 May 6th , 2019  Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 138 – 140

IPL (Traiblazers

Won by 2 points)

 Smriti Mandhana (IPL Traiblazers)
2 IPL Traiblazers

112/6 in 20 overs

Harleen Deol (43)

Ekta Bisht (2/13) in 4 overs

IPL Velocity

113/7 in 18 overs

Danielle Wyatt (46)

Deepti Sharma (4/14) in 4 overs

 May 8th, 2020  Sawai  Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 112 – 113

( IPL Velocity won by 3 wickets)

 Danielle Wyatt ( IPL Velocity)
3 IPL Supernovas

142/3 in 20 overs

Jemimah Rodrigues (77)

Amelia Kerr (2/21) in 4 overs

IPL Velocity

125/6 in 20 overs

Danielle Wyatt (43)

Poonam Yadav (1/13) in 4 overs

 May 9th, 2020  Sawai  Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 142 – 130

( IPL Supernovas won by 12 points)

 Jemimah Rodrigues ( IPL Supernovas)

Here is the point table after 3 matches

No Team Played Win Lose Points Net Run Rate
1 IPL Supernovas 2 1 1 2 + 0.250
2 IPL Velocity 2 1 1 2 + 0.045
3 IPL Traiblazers 2 1 1 2 - 0.305

After 3 matches, two top teams will compete with the champion of Women’s IPL 2019. They are IPL Supernovas and IPL Velocity.

Match Date Stadium Result The woman of the match
IPL Velocity

121/6 in 20 overs

Sushma Verma (40)

Lea Tahuhu (2/21) in 4 overs

IPL Supernovas

125/6 in 20 overs

Harmanpreet Kaur (51)

Jahanara Alam (2/21) in 4 overs

May 11th, 2019 Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 121 – 125 Harmanpreet Kaur ( IPL Supernovas)

IPL Supernovas was the second time to be the champion of Women’s IPL. Besides, the player of the series and the most points (123 points) belong to Jemimah Rodrigues (a member of IPL Supernovas). The most wickets belong to Amelia Kerr (a member of IPL Velocity) with 6 wickets

women's ipl 2020
The winner of Women’s IPL 2019 - IPL Supernovas

This list below is a list of cricketers who joins in Women’s IPL 2019. In this list, there are a lot of new cricketers from many countries like India, New Zealand, Barbadian,…

IPL Supernovas Nationality IPL Velocity Nationality IPL Traiblazers Nationality
Harmanpreet Kaur Indian Mithali Raj Indian Smriti Mandhana Indian
Anuja Patil Indian Amelia Kerr New Zealander Bharati Fulmali Indian
Arundhati Reddy Indian Danielle Wyatt English Dayalan Hemalatha Indian
Chamari Atapattu Sri Lankan Devika Vaidya Indian Deepti Sharma Indian
Jemimah Rodrigues Indian Ekta Bisht Indian Harleen Deol Indian
Lea Tahuhu New Zealander Hayley Matthews Barbadian Jasia Akhtar Indian
Mansi Joshi Indian Jahanara Alam Bangladeshi Jhulan Goswami Indian
Natalie Sciver English Komal Zanzad Indian Ravi Kalpana Indian
Poonam Yadav Indian Shafali Verma Indian Rajeshwari Gayakwad Indian
Priya Punia Indian Shikha Pandey Indian Shakera Selman West Indian
Radha Yadav Indian Sushma Verma Indian Sophie Eccleston English
Sophie Devine New Zealander Sushree Dibyadarshin India Stafanie Taylor Jamaican
Taniya Bhati Indian Veda Krishnamurthy Indian Suzie Bates New Zealander

Many people are looking forward to the third season of Women’s IPL. Hope that this tournament will soon come back.

If you are a big fan of cricket, don’t miss Women’s IPL 2020! Remember to like and share this article with your friends. Visit our website Gurugamer.com for more details about cricket and other sports.